This post originally appeared on the Waypost Marketing blog and is reposted here with permission from the author.
I recently had a meeting with a prospective client that led to an interesting conversation on the value of a website. More specifically, what is the value of a website visitor and lead? We worked through some calculations and were able to determine some interesting numbers.
I’ve started to ask similar questions with all new prospects and surprisingly I’ve yet to meet anyone that really has a firm grasp of the value of a website visitor. Most business owners know the value of a customer, but I doubt very few have taken the time to figure out some additional key data as it relates to their web presence.
If you’re serious about Inbound Marketing there are some key metrics that you should be aware of.
If you’re spending thousands of dollars each month on inbound marketing, don’t you think it would be pretty important to know these metrics?
For illustration purposes, I thought it would be interesting to run through some example calculations. You can use these same formulas and your data to see where you stand.
This number should change your thinking a bit. In this case, you’re no longer selling a $4,000 per month deal, you’re selling to a $144,000 customer.
Taking it a step further. If you acquire 12 new customers per year, you’re generating $1,728,000 in new lifetime customer revenue. Not bad eh?
Determine the number of website visitors for your selected time period. In this case, we’re using 12 months and we’ll assume the total visits to the website were 18,000.
That’s it. Every website visit in this example is worth $96. Surprised?
In order to do that we need to calculate a few more numbers. First, we need to determine your Visit-to-Lead Conversion rate, i.e. what percentage of website visitors turn into a lead?
Now, let’s look at the Lead-to Sales Conversion rate, i.e. the percentage of leads it takes to get one sale. Using our same numbers, let’s say those 450 leads resulted in 12 new customers.
Now you can talk to your sales team about improving the rate they close those internet leads you’re working so hard to generate.
Now that we know the true value of a customer, we can determine whether or not we’re getting a good return on our investment in inbound marketing. For this example, let’s assume your total Inbound Marketing monthly spend is $7,500, or $90,000 per year.
So, what do you think? I would encourage you to run some numbers on your own using a number of different time periods.
Waypost Marketing makes an important point — an online presence, managed correctly, ends up making you money for every visitor to your site. Part of a valuable digital presence is maintaining the network infrastructure that keeps you connected around the world. Let Bay Area Computer Solutions help! We provide network cabling, Managed IT, and Data Services to companies both large and small. Interested in learning more? We’d be happy to speak with you. Give us a call at (650) 887-4601 or contact us online today!
Published on 20th October 2015 by James Berger.